SPECIAL MEETING MINUTES BOARD OF EDUCATION – SCHOOL DISTRICT OF COLBY THURSDAY, APRIL 1, 2010 COLBY DISTRICT/EDUCATION CENTER

The Special School Board Meeting on April 1, 2010, was called to order at 5:30 p.m. in the Colby District Education Center by Board President, Dennis Engel. Members present were, Ed Haas, Donna Krueger, Larry Oehmichen, Dennis Engel, Cheryl Ploeckelman, William Tesmer and Rick Weber. Also present was Chris Thieme.

The meeting notice was posted according to the requirements of the open meeting law.

Public participation was moved to after the board meeting in closed session.

Motion by Mr. Weber, seconded by Mr. Oehmichen to adjourn to closed session per Wisconsin Statutes 19.85 (1) for the purposes of c) Considering employment, promotion, compensation or performance evaluation data of any public employee over which the governmental body has jurisdiction or exercises responsibility: 5.01 Consider Staff Resignations/Retirements/Leave Requests; 5.02 Appoint Acting Superintendent. Roll call vote: Yes – Mrs. Krueger, Mr. Oehmichen, Mr. Weber, Mr. Haas, Mr. Engel; No – Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Tesmer. Motion carried 5-2.

Motion by Mr. Weber, seconded by Mrs. Krueger, to move from closed session and reconvene in open session as previously announced. Voice vote – Motion carried.

Several community residents and educators expressed their opposition to Mr. Downen leaving his position. Questions were asked about the timing of the resignation and the additional costs to the district. Residents expressed admiration for his leadership, educational intelligence and his desire to provide students the best education possible.

Motion by Mr. Weber, seconded by Mrs. Krueger to accept the resignation agreement between Terry Downen and the Board of Education. Roll call vote: Yes – Mr. Oehmichen, Mr. Weber, Mr. Haas, Mrs. Krueger, Mr. Engel; No – Mrs. Ploeckelman, Mr. Tesmer. Motion carried 5-2.

Motion by Mr. Weber, seconded by Mrs. Krueger to appoint Nancy Marcott as acting superintendent as of Mr. Downen's last day of employment. Roll call vote – Motion carried 7-0.

Motion by Mrs. Ploeckelman, seconded by Mrs. Krueger to authorize Mr. Engel as board president to write a letter to the donor of the Neillsville Properties asking about the transfer of ownership of the administrative building to the Colby School District. Voice vote – Motion carried.

Motion by Mr. Weber, seconded by Mr. Oehmichen to adjourn the meeting. Voice vote – Motion carried. Meeting adjourned at 6:20 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted:

William Tesmer, Clerk

Chris Thieme, Reporting Secretary